Japanese otter awarded special residency status

A sea otter in Japan, which has been named “Ku-chan” received special residency status by the city of Kushiro earlier this month. You can read about Ku-chan in the Mainichi Daily News.

The otter, who is credited with generating high tourism revenue, was granted his very own residency card, which includes the otter’s name, an identification photo, and his favorite food.

After the ceremony, the otter appeared in the river where he has been cited–the mayor apparently took that as his acceptance.

On a random note, while searching for a picture to add to this post, I found this blog note about a type of Japanese candy called sea otter boogers. Really. The logo is a cartoon otter picking it’s nose.

Photo credit flickr user dcmarkie

Photo credit flickr user dcmarkie

Bookmark and Share

About Allison

I am the new Executive Director of The Otter Project in Monterey, California! Originally from the Bay Area, I went to school in San Diego, and came back north to Monterey for graduate school, where I found my calling: saving sea otters! Working for The Otter Project combines my passion for environmental policy with my love of animals. When not advocating for sea otters, I enjoy yoga, volunteer wildlife rehab, reading, and spending time with my cat Alyssa, who, for the record, I did not name. I have been with The Otter Project since November of 2007.
This entry was posted in International Otters, Otter Spottings, sea otters ARE cute and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Japanese otter awarded special residency status

  1. Pingback: Ku-chan watch « Sea Otter Scoop

Leave a comment