Sea otter bill may see movement before the year is out

Now that it’s hit the Senate, we’re waiting for news on when the Sea Otter Recovery and Research Act will gain speed again. A contact in DC suggested that it might get some movement before the year is out, which would be great news! This would likely mean a markup in committee, but it does mean that the bill is still on policy makers’ radars. Given the momentous issues that Congress is tackling right now (think climate and health), it’s great to know that sea otters haven’t been forgotten. I imagine it’s like trying to find time to do laundry or dishes when your whole house is turned upside down because you’re moving. We just have to keep on it to make sure Congress doesn’t forget to do its laundry on this one.

We posted updated information about the bill on our webpage this week under our current projects. You can read about the bill and our official position on it there. We should have an action alert coming soon as well, so stay tuned.

About Allison

I am the new Executive Director of The Otter Project in Monterey, California! Originally from the Bay Area, I went to school in San Diego, and came back north to Monterey for graduate school, where I found my calling: saving sea otters! Working for The Otter Project combines my passion for environmental policy with my love of animals. When not advocating for sea otters, I enjoy yoga, volunteer wildlife rehab, reading, and spending time with my cat Alyssa, who, for the record, I did not name. I have been with The Otter Project since November of 2007.
This entry was posted in General Information, Southern Sea Otter Research & Recovery Bill and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment