Volunteer training coming up!

Help monitor beautiful places like Monterey Bay!

Looking for an excuse to spend time on the coast this summer? The Otter Project & Monterey Coastkeeper are recruiting volunteers for MPA Watch!

MPA Watch is a new program coordinated by The Otter Project and Monterey Coastkeeper and is currently in its pilot phase. The program trains citizen volunteers to monitor resource use such as boating and fishing within our local network of marine protected areas. Volunteers are assigned specific monitoring locations and asked to record activities they see taking place a few hours each week. This is a great way to get out and enjoy our gorgeous California coast, while helping to preserve it all at the same time! Data will allow a preliminary look into the use of MPAs and help stakeholders tailor enforcement and outreach efforts.

Our first wave of volunteers has been helping us refine our monitoring protocol and tailor the program. They have gotten to go to beautiful places, see some unusual coastal activities, and even help us test an aerial survey!

Volunteer Sam helps pilot an aerial survey

We are holding our next training on June 5th, 9am – 12pm. Training will take place at the First National Bank community Room, 615 Abrego St., Monterey, CA 93940. RSVPs to Amanda Grant at Amanda@otterproject.org or 831-646-8837 ext 116. You can also RSVP on Facebook. Hope to see you there!

About Allison

I am the new Executive Director of The Otter Project in Monterey, California! Originally from the Bay Area, I went to school in San Diego, and came back north to Monterey for graduate school, where I found my calling: saving sea otters! Working for The Otter Project combines my passion for environmental policy with my love of animals. When not advocating for sea otters, I enjoy yoga, volunteer wildlife rehab, reading, and spending time with my cat Alyssa, who, for the record, I did not name. I have been with The Otter Project since November of 2007.
This entry was posted in Events, Marine Protected Areas, MPA Watch, Volunteer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Volunteer training coming up!

  1. I live in Fort Bragg, CA. A sea otter has come from the ocean, crossed highway 1 and swan into the pond by my shop. It has been here for about a month now. The ducks brought it to my attention by not getting in the pond. I thought the otter had found its return to the sea, but yesterday, up he popped! The pond is covered in
    Hydrilla, although it has continued to be a full ecosystem, including koi, goldfish, black bass… Well, there were many fish, but of course now, since this beautiful creature came to eat, there aren’t many left. I suspect when they are all eatened, he will be motivated to return to the ocean. My guess is he crossed highway 1 through the culverts. The pond is constantly fed via a tributary of either Pudding or Virgin Creek.
    I am concerned that the fish will all be eaten soon, the fresh water won’t be good for the otter? and he won’t find it’s way back to sea as he came. Calling Fish & Game at this time will be my last resort, if in fact I need to do anything at all.
    I left a phone message with The Marine Mammal Center in Crescent City this morning, knowing they offer services to Humbolt and Del Norte Counties.
    I hope someone reads and can respond to my query with available and appropriate guidance. I understand the importance of allowing nature to pursue its own path. I also understand the importance of helping animals while one can, should it be necessary.
    I can be reached Thursday through Monday 9-5 at
    707-964-7897; otherwise call 707-962-9087. A message can be left at both numbers. You can email me as well.
    Thanks very much for your support.
    carla

    • otterheather says:

      Carla- thanks so very much for this. I have forwarded this on to several folks to see if there is anything that can be done. It is nice to see citizens go the extra mile. Let us know if you get any other resolution. We would like to know the outcome.
      Cheers.

Leave a Reply

