Endangered Neighbors

Those of you who attended last years sea otter art show The Otter Zone might remember this guy:

This great shot was featured right in the center of last years’ show. It’s by Sebastian Kennerknecht, a local wildlife photographer who does amazing work. We’re hoping he will participate in next year’s show, as well as tell all his artist friends to go out and create sea otter inspired work. In the meantime, Sebastian is putting together his own exhibition called Endangered Neighbors. Additional support is needed to make the show happen. Check out the link for more information. Sebastian says, “These species and this geographical area is something I care deeply about and I have had many amazing experiences with all the animals. I would now like to share them with you through the exhibit.” The exhibit will be more than just the photos (although those are worth it alone)–they are working on putting together interpretive panels, educational programs, docent led tours for students, and Saturday programs.  

What I love about this project is the focus on local endangered species–photography really brings these species closer to us, but in this case they are literally in our backyard. The emotional connection that art can create will hopefully inspire us to do more to protect these “neighbors” of ours.

On a similar note, we will be hosting a second annual sea otter art show for Sea Otter Awareness Week in the fall–hopefully this year we will be able to exhibit on the Monterey side of the bay in addition to Santa Cruz. If you are an artist and want to contribute, start thinking about those sea otters! The show is mixed media–all you have to do is convince us it was inspired by sea otters, and we’ll consider including your piece in the show. Contact me at allison at otterproject dot org for more information or to inquire after submitting work.

About Allison

I am the new Executive Director of The Otter Project in Monterey, California! Originally from the Bay Area, I went to school in San Diego, and came back north to Monterey for graduate school, where I found my calling: saving sea otters! Working for The Otter Project combines my passion for environmental policy with my love of animals. When not advocating for sea otters, I enjoy yoga, volunteer wildlife rehab, reading, and spending time with my cat Alyssa, who, for the record, I did not name. I have been with The Otter Project since November of 2007.
This entry was posted in Events, Outreach and Awareness, Partners and friends, Sea otter art and culture and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Endangered Neighbors

  1. Monica says:

    Hi — What an amazing picture! I am wondering whether I could download any of the pics on this site (love this one and a couple others are great too) just to use as my avatar. Could you email me about this? I work in marine conservation and it would just make a really cool avatar. Thanks!

    • Allison says:

      Hi Monica,
      Thanks for the feedback! Our images come from a variety of sources, and that determines whether or not you can use them. This picture is Sebastian’s, and he has been kind enough to let us repost it in relation to our art show and in promoting his own show. I can’t give you permission to reuse it; you would have to contact him directly; his website is http://www.pumapix.com/ .
      Most of our other photos are either donated from artists or open-source. I try to link the open source ones back to their origins, and credit the author. If its open source you can use it within the limits designated. I use creative common search and wiki commons to find good open source images.
      Thanks for checking in on the permissions–we try to style our blog in a way that is snazzy but also respectful of artists’ rights. We appreciate when readers do the same.
      Cheers,
      Allison

  2. Thanks for posting this Allison, you are a sweetheart! I will be there for your otter show again. Last year was great. Keep up your great work.
    Sebastian

Leave a Reply

