Happy Anniversary, Wilderness Act

So I took the bait on Google this morning and followed the crop circle doodle–which landed me on the UK Guardian’s Environment Blog. While there, I noticed this photo slide show  in the corner, commemorating the 45th anniversary of the US’s Wilderness Act.

Pacific_ocean_6

 

“On 3 September, when the Wilderness Act was passed, 9.1m acres of America was designated as wilderness. Today, there are 756 wilderness areas covering nearly 110m acres in 44 states and Puerto Rico – nearly 5% of America’s total land area.”

No sea otters in there, but plenty of other critters–the show has some really stunning photos and serves as a great reminder of conservation success. It makes me want to toss everything aside and go on a road trip–maybe I’d see some crop circles.

About Allison

I am the new Executive Director of The Otter Project in Monterey, California! Originally from the Bay Area, I went to school in San Diego, and came back north to Monterey for graduate school, where I found my calling: saving sea otters! Working for The Otter Project combines my passion for environmental policy with my love of animals. When not advocating for sea otters, I enjoy yoga, volunteer wildlife rehab, reading, and spending time with my cat Alyssa, who, for the record, I did not name. I have been with The Otter Project since November of 2007.
This entry was posted in conservation, General Information and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

