Sea otter field trip!

Steve, Heather and I spent the morning spotting otters around Monterey Bay. Steve has been involved in the otter world for many many years, and is great at distinguishing the otter heads from the kelp. Heather and I, well, let’s just say we’re getting better.

We started out at Elkhorn Slough, which is my personal favorite otter-watching spot. Not only are you practically guaranteed a raft of otters right offshore, the slough is also teeming with other cool stuff to see, including birds (herons, egrets, cormorants, brown pelicans, white pelicans, and many more), fellow marine mammals (harbor seals and sea lions), beautiful plants, and even jellies that you can spot from shore.

IMG_5652

we counted about 30 in this raft

Kayaking is a great way to see otters! (Just don't get TOO close)

Kayaking is a great way to see otters! (Just don't get TOO close)

After that, we worked our way south, just past Hopkins marine station. All along Cannery Row can be fruitful too.

It's harder to spot otters in the kelp, but we found a few.

It's harder to spot otters in the kelp, but we found a few.

Steve and Heather scoping the surf (for otters that is)

Steve and Heather scoping the surf (for otters that is)

All in all, we estimate that we saw about 50 otters–not too bad for a mornings work!

About Allison

I am the new Executive Director of The Otter Project in Monterey, California! Originally from the Bay Area, I went to school in San Diego, and came back north to Monterey for graduate school, where I found my calling: saving sea otters! Working for The Otter Project combines my passion for environmental policy with my love of animals. When not advocating for sea otters, I enjoy yoga, volunteer wildlife rehab, reading, and spending time with my cat Alyssa, who, for the record, I did not name. I have been with The Otter Project since November of 2007.
This entry was posted in Otter Spottings, sea otters ARE cute and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

