Great example of partnerships to save otters

A very different otter habitat

A very different otter habitat

While searching for something otter related on the web, I stumbled upon this Forestry Commission project going on in Manchester in the UK about a collaborative effort to help their local population of otters. The partnership includes the Manchester Airport, Cheshire Wildlife Trust, the Riparian Mammal BAP Group, Cheshire Region Biodiversity Partnership and the Forestry Commission.

I’m not sure which species of river otter they have, but according to the article¬†it is listed as “vulnerable to extinction” by the IUCN Red Book. Threats to the otters include road casualties and pesticide contamination (sounds familiar). The team is helping the otters by constructing an “otter holt”, an underground, barely visible chamber for undisturbed otter breeding.

Such a great example of a collaborative effort. I’m sure there have been bumps in the road (hopefully none of them were otters) but stories like this are a great reminder of the necessity of interagency collaboration for successful conservation.

About Allison

I am the new Executive Director of The Otter Project in Monterey, California! Originally from the Bay Area, I went to school in San Diego, and came back north to Monterey for graduate school, where I found my calling: saving sea otters! Working for The Otter Project combines my passion for environmental policy with my love of animals. When not advocating for sea otters, I enjoy yoga, volunteer wildlife rehab, reading, and spending time with my cat Alyssa, who, for the record, I did not name. I have been with The Otter Project since November of 2007.
This entry was posted in International Otters, Partners and friends and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

