Sea Otter bill passes in the House

OTTER02

We tweeted and facebooked in glee as soon as we heard the news, but somehow it slipped my mind to post it here.

At any rate, the Sea Otter Research and Recovery Act passed the House on Tuesday with a vote of 316 to 107. It was passed in conjunction with H.R. 509, for the protection of marine turtles. So a pretty good day for sea life!

The Sea Otter bill was of course sponsored by our very own Sam Farr, who is attributed with this quote: ”If the sea otters are dying, then something else is happening that is very keen to the coastal near-shore environment that affects the well-being of mankind.’

Well said Congressman Farr–now we just have to make it through the Senate!

Thanks for all who supported the bill and took the time to call, write and beg your Rep for support in whatever way you chose. Clearly, it worked!

About Allison

I am the new Executive Director of The Otter Project in Monterey, California! Originally from the Bay Area, I went to school in San Diego, and came back north to Monterey for graduate school, where I found my calling: saving sea otters! Working for The Otter Project combines my passion for environmental policy with my love of animals. When not advocating for sea otters, I enjoy yoga, volunteer wildlife rehab, reading, and spending time with my cat Alyssa, who, for the record, I did not name. I have been with The Otter Project since November of 2007.
This entry was posted in Southern Sea Otter Research & Recovery Bill and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

