And now for some sea otter FUN…

It’s been a tough week for sea otters (and those who love them) so I thought I’d end it with a few uplifting sea otter links.

Artist Mike Dutton

Artist Mike Dutton

First is a lovely sea otter illustration done by a friend of mine. Mike Dutton is the husband of my best friend’s sister, and a great artist and comic book writer. Follow the link above to see more of his work–I find it enchanting, and whimsical. I know, I know, sea otters don’t hang out in cypress trees. But who knows, maybe they would if they could.

Second, is an adorable blog about an otter named, well, Otter. It’s a little strange, in a fun, otter who wants a Hannah Montana poster sort of way…but totally worth a visist, especially if you have kids (or pets that you treat like kids). I find it oddly compelling, especially the post about Otter Keeper going to work.  Otter looks like a river otter to me, but heck, we’ll let that slide.

As a policy organization, a lot of our work has to do with science and politics–but in addition to all the good they do our eco-system, sea otters are cultural icons as well, and its great to see them well represented in art and stories!

Enjoy, and have a great weekend!

Bookmark and Share

About Allison

I am the new Executive Director of The Otter Project in Monterey, California! Originally from the Bay Area, I went to school in San Diego, and came back north to Monterey for graduate school, where I found my calling: saving sea otters! Working for The Otter Project combines my passion for environmental policy with my love of animals. When not advocating for sea otters, I enjoy yoga, volunteer wildlife rehab, reading, and spending time with my cat Alyssa, who, for the record, I did not name. I have been with The Otter Project since November of 2007.
This entry was posted in Sea otter art and culture and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

